Darcy Lewis Design

Adventures in "Good Enough" Design

POST-EXPO EXHALE!

ERMAHGERD!! Expo, LSAT, packing, unpacking, packing, unpacking, labelling, labelling, labelling, need more shelves, shelves fall down, build better shelves, VIKINGS!!!!

Yeah, so that, in a nutshell, is how the past month has gone….

First, I have to say that my husband went so far above and beyond in helping with Expo, that I don’t even have the words to properly express my thanks!  Truly an exemplary partner!

Second, the MI sewing community has been so nice to me – their response to me at Expo and afterwards – making a point of stopping by to say hi, asking how things were going, expressing support for me and for my business, buying from me… the outpouring of well-wishes and affection has been incredible!

On to the details… We had so many idiotic crises getting to today, highlights include the moving truck we’d reserved a month in advance to haul all our stuff to Expo was mysteriously “unavailable” 2 hours before pick-up, and there wasn’t a replacement vehicle to be found!!!  Arrived at Expo, get everything in our booth set for me to just arrange the fabric on the shelves, and so Raf went off to classes…. and about an hour later, my booth neighbor suddenly gave me their space and moved….So I made a mad dash to IKEA, bought a ton of new shelving, went to set it up and…discovered that it was so flimsy it fell over when you so much as breathed on it.  Then I had to sit and wait for Raf to get back from class, mad dash to Home Depot, 2x4s screwed in to the backs, STABLE! Then frantic fabric arranging and unpacking… we didn’t get done until after 2am (supposed to be setup by 10pm, but security guard was REALLY nice to us and let us stay).  Then the next morning, the doors opened, the crowds descended (that would be the Vikings)… and the next thing we knew, it was 3 days later and time to break it all down.  It was truly an utter mad house!  For our very first expo, though, I think we did really well – we were prepared for everything, our booth looked really nice, other vendors who were Expo pros complimented us on our professionalism and style, we got tons of compliments from customers, our fabric was even selected by one of the Passion for Fashion contestants for use in her project (they have the first 2 days of expo to sew something on site to be judged!), and my classes went brilliantly and everyone seemed really happy!

We’re still catching our breaths, and recovering from our exhausted delirium, so here are some photos.  I’d love to hear from you – what do you love/hate about fabric vendors at Expos?  What do you wish they did differently?  What do you like?  We’re already looking to how we can make next year better, and we’d love your input!

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “POST-EXPO EXHALE!

  1. Hi Darcy. I was at the expo with my mom and we LOVED your booth! You and your husband were wonderful. We had such a fun time looking at your fabrics and designs. You guys made us feel so welcome. I love that you let me try on your Bog Coat. It was one of my favorite moments of the expo! I’m so in love with that coat and I’m so excited that you have the instructions in your blog. Hopefully I can attempt one on my own.

    I really dislike vendors that shout prices the second you touch a fabric. I like being able to browse and look around. I appreciate when a vendor is nearby to answer questions or offer some advice, but I really hate when I feel like they’re pushing a sale.

    Hope to see you at the expo again next year!

Leave a Reply

