Darcy Lewis Design

Adventures in "Good Enough" Design

TWO T-SHIRT ALTERATIONS!

I found two adorable shirts at the store, but they were clearanced and not available in my size.  ;(  Nothing for it, I HAD to have them, so I bought with the intent to alter…

 

The red and blue shirt perfectly matches the red feathers!  So I tried on the feather shirt to see where I needed ease.  It was snug but fit ok over the bust, but the body didn’t look good – especially with those elastic-gathered sides (made me look very pregnant!)  I measured the shirt against another shirt I like the fit of (recognize my French knit shirt? 😉  ):

imag5893

So I  cut triangle wedges out of the side of the red shirt (really is pretty symmetrical, just laid out badly). Cutting them out of the sides not only saved the body of the shirt for alteration #2, but meant there was a seam down the actual side, so it looks deliberate, not like an alteration:

imag59041

And sewed them into the feather shirt.  The red shirt is not actually hemmed, so I hemmed it to match the lines on the feather shirt, and I think I need to lengthen the sleeves, which I will do by adding more mesh.  And now I have an adorable shirt that actually fits!! (Though I still suck at selfies 😉   )

IMAG5896[1].jpg

That left me with a cut-up red shirt that needed bigger sides of its own…  I have some beautiful navy cotton eyelet in my shop that I needed to make a sample with for expo anyways, and it blended perfectly with the blue on the red shirt, so… The only caveat is that it’s a woven not a knit, so I had to make sure it’s full enough to compensate.  I based the size for this shirt on a favorite sweatshirt.  Then I cut rectangles (not squares, bc I wanted the shirt to be a little longer in the back than in the front) that were 13″ x 15″.  I hemmed the 2 sides first, then sewed the insets into the shirt, making sure to match up fronts (the selvedge edges with a wider hem), and hemming the red shirt to match the insets.  And now I have a gorgeous shirt that looks like a designer original, which, of course, it is!!!

imag58971

I think I need to hire a photographer 😉

 

What do you think?  Tell me about some of your favorite alterations!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “TWO T-SHIRT ALTERATIONS!

  1. Karen Poole on said:

    Wow! What great ideas!! I think they both look great! I never would have thought of doing that but they really look great! I’m going to look att shirts in a whole different way now!

  2. Karen Poole on said:

    Uh-oh! I think I made the mailing list twice! How do I fix that?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Thanks! Best part, is they were SO quick to do!! I did both shirts in about an hour, total! As far as being on the mailing list twice, I’m not sure how to fix it, but I think the easiest solution would be to unsubscribe twice, then re-add once.

Leave a Reply

