Darcy Lewis Design

Adventures in "Good Enough" Design

Adventures with Knits…

I took the day off from studying and house-cleaning to try a patternless, easy-peasy, knit shirt (you already smell disaster coming, don’t you?).

I love wearing knits, wanted something easy and fast, and most important – it had to be fool-proof since I’ve been unhappy with everything I’ve made recently (regardless of the actually objective quality of the outcome).  So… PINTEREST!!

I’d been eyeballing this shirt for some time, and in July one of my local sewing groups is presenting a knit challenge, so I wanted something easy to teach…

knit shirt design

This was the image on Pinterest (hyperlinked).  No directions, measures, or other info.  So I started with a t-shirt I liked the fit and length of (excuse the photos – I suck at selfies!):

IMAG5572

I picked out this knit from my shop (hyperlinked) so I could use this as a sample for the Sew Expo:

navy grass knit

I wanted the thick navy part at the bottom, and the fabric, folded in half selvedge to selvedge was the exact same length as my shirt.  I wanted my sleeves about 7″ longer, so I measured 7″ from the side edge and stuck a pin in.  (Sorry, forgot to take photos of all these steps!)  Took my t-shirt and folded it in half, aligning my sleeves and pinning them and the shoulders.  I laid the shirt out on the fabric, with the sleeve end starting at my pin (that was 7″ in from the side), with the shoulder and neck at the top where the white part is, and the shirt hem at the bottom where the navy centerfold was.

I traced the sleeves and side and side swoop, then used pins on the new fabric to mark the center front and center back (where my t-shirt was folded in half), then folded that in half along the center so I’d have even fronts and backs.

Then I cut it out – 4 layers at once (2 fronts and 2 backs – both front and back aligned down a centerfold so no seam and not actually 4 pieces).  This is the after I cut out the main part – sleeves and sides not yet cut out (don’t forget to cut along the fabric fold at the bottom to make sure you can put your body in 😉  Shown here still folded, not yet cut.):

IMAG5567

Then I basted it together and checked the fit…

IMAG5570

Yes, that’s a grimace.  I do not love the shirt.  The fit over the bust is a little snug (how?!), the collar is too tight (easy to fix), and the flare is not as dramatic or pointed as I expected (and would have liked).  So I marked the center point of the new neck line, and the shoulder, and recut the neck.

Then I serged the inside seams in plain white thread, then used fancy woolly blue (I had 2 blues in stock: black (closest color match) or a blue that was darker than royal, but lighter than this navy.  I went with that since I wanted to play up the blue and white look.) in the upper looper to serge the sleeves and hem.  For the neckline, I used the navy jersey seam binding from the shop (have I mentioned how much I LOVE that stuff?!?!)

IMAG5579

Oh, and here’s a close-up of the serged edge with the blue… it made a lettuce edge, but overall ok:

IMAG5581

Ultimate verdict: Don’t love it, but it was really easy, took about 2 hours – start to finish, and will be fine for a sample for Expo, though I don’t think I’ll ever wear it – will probably put it in the shop for sale at some point.  I think it will be much nicer on someone with a slightly smaller bust than mine.

The shop: http://stores.ebay.com/beautifultextiles

Check the category of knits for the fabric, the jersey seam binding will be under both Knits and Trims.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Adventures with Knits…

  1. I think it’s really cute on you and I want to make one now!

Leave a Reply

