Darcy Lewis Design

Adventures in "Good Enough" Design

Bitter pill….

Sure, “Good Enough Design” is a great and easy concept, but it can be really hard sometimes to take that advice when you have a particular image in mind.  For a control freak like myself, this concept is very hard to live by sometimes 😉

You may remember the guest room in our new house that I was co-opting for my new sewing room?

guest room before

Look at those ugly stripes and the harlequin drapes that don’t match anything!  But the room itself is quite lovely.  As I mentioned in my last post, I’m trying to paint it a beautiful periwinkle color… I say trying because I’m having a bit of unexpected difficulty with my paint.  I’ve painted entire rooms before with Behr paint and no problems – even done faux finishing.  But while we followed all the usual advice about prepping the surface and the temperature of the room and climate, the paint is starting to dry the SECOND it touches the wall, which leaves every coat looking VERY uneven and blotchy.  This paint was supposed to be one-coat coverage, but on some walls we’ve already finished the second coat, and it is no better…  So clearly, painting and repainting is not going to work.  I called Behr, but didn’t get much helpful information.

Clearly, the solution to blotchy paint is… FAUX FINISH!  I had just stocked up on a massive quantity of Behr’s Faux Glaze which Home Depot was clearancing out at dirt cheap, so I decided to do a light glaze overcoat tinted a shade darker than the wall and pounced with cheesecloth.  Yeeeaah…..  The glaze is supposed to have an open (wet working time) of 8-15 minutes, but it too started to dry THE SECOND it hit the wall, so this was a failed plan.  We stopped and when it dried we covered it over with another coat of the periwinkle (Behr’s Carriage Ride – really beautiful shade).

Now what?  Since I’d started seeing silver whenever I looked at the periwinkle wall, we’ve decided the only way to hide the blotches is to do a sponge coat of silver, and I think I will then do another light sponge topcoat of the tinted glaze to add some interest and more depth – as well as tone down the silver.  For some reason, I also see a band of silver painted over all about 1″ from the ceiling as a faux crown moulding.  I would love to do a very loose design of sponged grape hyacinths with slivers of sea green leaves and stems wending their way through, but since the blotchiness of the original paint goes all the way up to the ceiling, I think that won’t work.  Pity, it would be really lovely.  Maybe I can do it somewhere else…

I saw this recently on Pinterest and fell in love – maybe this was behind that inspiration?  Apparently from a studio called L’Atelier Du Papillon – Butterfly Studio.

lavender dresser

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

