Darcy Lewis Design

Adventures in "Good Enough" Design

Armenian Carnival/Mardi Gras

My husband is Armenian (as in, Fresh-Off-The-Boat ;>  ), so I’ve become active in the local Armenian community as well – which has been very welcoming to us both.  While I knew vaguely about Armenia in my youth, since we started dating, I started learning a whole lot more about the culture, history, and language of this ancient people.  However, I did NOT know until recently that they celebrate a masquerade festival too, called Bun Barekendan (Pun Paregentan – depending on which version of Armenian you speak – there are 2 – Eastern and Western).  The local Seattle community hosts their’s on March 8th (you can find more info HERE .  I encourage you to come join us for an evening of fun!)

 

mask

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

