Darcy Lewis Design

Adventures in "Good Enough" Design

Sideboard Rehab

When we moved into the new house, we needed more space for kitchen gadgets and dishes.  So I found a suitable sideboard on Craigslist, but it was this terribly dated boring piece (upper left corner of the picture), that desperately needed a new life.  Since I was missing Colorado, I saw the ‘bars’ on the doors and immediately thought ASPEN TREES!!!  So here is my sideboard/dresser with its fall aspen leaves!

This is a great example of my Good Enough philosophy.  Conventional wisdom says I must strip, sand, etc. first. But I didn’t.  Instead, I primed – using a top-quality primer, sprayed a stain-blocker to prevent any discoloration from the base bleeding through, and then painted, and sealed with several coats of a Minwax Poly sealer.  I then gave it owl, bird, and dragonfly handles in antiqued bronze.  I’m quite happy with this piece, but found that after all that, it doesn’t fit in with the house.  So it’s for sale, if anyone wants this lovely piece…

sideboard before and after

aspen-1

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

