Darcy Lewis Design

Adventures in "Good Enough" Design

My Piano Bench Redo….

So my latest FINISHED project (as opposed to the gazillion UFO projects still “in process”) is this piano bench redo I’m rather proud of.  We wanted a bench for our bedroom and I was deeply in love with this turquoise crocodile-embossed fabric.

I haunted Craigslist and Goodwill and other sources for AGES trying to find a bench, before remembering that I had this old piano bench I’d stuffed away in the basement – always intending to give it a makeover.

So I primed it with RustOleum’s Painter’s Touch 2x Primer and Paint, then gave it a coat or two of their Bright Finish in Chrome for a really nice silver.  To be honest, I was not thrilled with either paint, and will try something else next time.  I then mixed up some acrylic paint to match the turquoise fabric, and painted the grooves in the legs – painstaking, but totally worth it!!

I upholstered the top with 2″ HD foam, and sewed a piece of black cotton to the underside to create a really nice finished look (I hate visible staples or that crappy non-woven fabric you so often find on the underside of store-bought furniture).  I lined the inside bottom with a Renaissance-print Italian paper, then sealed it.  Since this was the first time I had ever upholstered anything (not counting the time when I was 5 and “helped” my dad make an upholstered ottoman from scratch), I am really proud of this and how it came out.  Having done it, I’m now ready to sell it and make something new…. Anyone want to buy it?  ;>

Click on the photo to enlarge it…

Piano bench remodel

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

